“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

The warm, muggy air outside my window did little to ease the heat inside my car. Oh well, I could stand the heat for the twenty-five minute drive. I turned up the CD a little louder and headed out of the parking lot towards home.

Ten minutes later I mechanically got into the lane that would turn into a ramp to the next road. My eyes automatically fixed on the truck in front of me. Suddenly, the brake lights on the truck came on and the truck came to almost a dead stop just 50 feet in front of me! I slammed on my brakes to avoid hitting the truck. It was as if I saw the vehicle approaching in slow motion. Fifty feet. Twenty feet. Finally my car came to a stop about 5 feet from the truck’s bumper. The cars behind me had managed to stop in time too.

As I made my way around the traffic jam and saw that the cause of the sudden stop was a vacant car sitting in the turn lane, the verse that I had been studying that morning came to mind, “The Lord lives, and blessed by my rock, and exalted be the God of my salvation” (Psalm 18:46). I spoke the words aloud to express my thanks and praise to God who had just delivered me from a damaging car-crash.

This is the first post in a series about how to keep our thoughts trained on God. It’s a hard thing to do when so many other things are vying for attention in our lives! But this event taught me a valuable lesson on how to do it: memorize God’s word. The first thing that my mind jumped to in this situation was the reality of God’s deliverance because I had just been reading about that deliverance and purposefully memorizing Psalm 18:46.  Just imagine what changes could take place in our lives if we took the time to implant key verses into our hearts!

So, Key #1: Memorizing scripture. What good ways have you found to do this?

Comments on: "The Lord Lives – Key 1" (5)

  1. I am still trying to find ways to memorize
    Coming from a Catholic school background – we were not encouraged to memorize scriptures
    I truly find it so difficult to remember – I remember bits and pieces
    I have prayed the Lord and the Spirit will open my mind and keep prompting me
    God Bless
    Looking forward to the next posts!

    • That’s a great point Susie; it helps to pray first! I’ve found that a good way for me to memorize is to write the verses on pieces of cardstock and then to put them on a key chain to carry around with me. I’ll pray that you find a good way that works for you!
      Thanks for commenting!

  2. Hi Aimee, I finally had a moment to check out your latest post. Powerful message in this one! I’m happy to know you were protected that day from a severe accident. May you continue to use your experiences to teach others about God’s amazing promises in the Bible!

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

