“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Your Treasure – Key 2

For a little over a week, people from around the world have been united around their respective TV sets as they watch the 2012 Summer Olympics. We’ve cheered for our favorite competitors, felt their crushing disappointments, and shared in their joy as they come out victorious at the medal ceremonies. In a small way, we feel as though we have traveled alongside these national heroes on their journey to Gold.

But in reality, we only see a miniscule part of the journey that these men and women have traveled to have the opportunity to compete in the Olympic games. We see the culmination of years of intense training in these short two weeks. The winning Olympians have invested literally thousands of hours and hundreds of thousands of dollars into training for the games, occasionally even experiencing foreclosure or bankruptcy because of their choice to compete.

So why do they do it? Why spend your life pursuing something even though it means sacrificing so much? They do it because they want a Gold medal, and they are willing to train, spend, and focus in order to get it.

We can learn a lot from these extremely dedicated men and women. Jesus says in Luke 12:34 that “where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” What do you treasure? Probably not a Gold medal, but what is it for you? Good grades? Lots of “likes” on your Facebook status? Or do you treasure your relationship with Jesus above all things?

In a world where there are so many things vying for our attention, we have to make a special effort to keep Jesus as our treasure. Olympic athletes plan everything around their training schedule so that they can devote hours every day to getting better at their sport. We can learn from this in planning our time to best pursue our Treasure too.

Key #2 for keeping your thoughts on Jesus is to make Jesus your treasure. What ideas do you have to do this practically? I’d love to hear!

Comments on: "Your Treasure – Key 2" (7)

  1. Good Morning
    MUSIC – that’s my pratical idea
    I am singing to myself these day the song : Bless the Lord (O my soul) by Matt Redman
    Bless the Lord – O my soul – OOO my soul – Worship His Holy Name
    Then if my soul does not find peace I grab for the Ipod and listen
    I have an 1 1/2 of worship music currently down-loaded with more to come
    Sometimes I have a 1 Ipod day and sometimes I need a re-do and listen to the songs over again until I find rest in His name
    God Bless

  2. Good question! I’m one of the few not watching why don’t know but you are right I need to be in training with Jesus

  3. Another great post, Aimee! I love how you were able to relate the Olympics to our spiritual walk. I missed seeing you at the Greater Philadelphia Writers Conference. I only went on the Friday. I met some wonderful people in the publishing world who gave me encouragement and advice. I’m hoping to to turn my blogs into a devotional book. I was very sad I didn’t see you!

    • I wish we could have seen each other also! But actually I wasn’t able to attend the conference this year because the dates of my internship conflicted with it. Maybe next year. =) That is so exciting about turning your blog into a book! I will be praying for you as you work on this next project that you find the right contacts and are able to create a powerful devotional!

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

