“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Shifting Scenes – Key 3

I sat in the front seat of the car while my mom went into the grocery store on a quick errand. The sky was a clear shade of blue today; no clouds were handy to block out the sun that beat down on the pavement with an intensity that Marylanders were beginning to accept as the new normal. Busy shoppers walked back and forth between their cars and the store.

As I watched the scene from the windshield of our minivan, I noticed a young man walking across the parking lot to the curb. He was listening to a huge set of earphones and doing a little jig while he walked. Instead of watching where he was going, his eyes were locked on an iPad that he held in front of his face. He only looked up after accidently walking into the curb and risking dropping his iPad on the cement.

I couldn’t help chuckling as I watched this young man who was so distracted by his interaction with technology. He had no idea what was actually going on around him because he was so focused on his virtual world. Aren’t we sometimes like this too?

There are always going to be things to distract us from what really matters: living every moment for God. Thankfully, we have a loving God who knows our weaknesses and who promises to give us strength to do what He calls us to.

Focus is the opposite of distraction. In Psalm 119:15, David tells us how he combats distraction when he says, “I will meditate on your precepts and fix my eyes on your ways.” He keeps his focus on God by constantly thinking about his Word and by “fixing his eyes” on what God has done.

What do you spend your time thinking about? Technology? Friends? Circumstances? These things are all appropriate in their time, but they can begin to overshadow more important things in our lives if we don’t consciously take control. Ask God to help you keep your focus on him.

Key #3 is taking action. How do you consciously shift your thoughts to God?

A few weeks ago, Elaine had the great suggestion to write out your thoughts and prayers to God in order to sort them out. I’ve certainly found that this has helped me!

Comments on: "Shifting Scenes – Key 3" (2)

  1. I type a portion of my prayers in my blog every day. I find I can pray much better typing than I can talking. My thoughts are much more organized when I’m typing, for some reason.

    • That’s great advice, Jeff. For some reason writing or typing my thoughts seems to be easier sometimes as well. Thanks for the comment!

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

