“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Fulfiller of Needs

“And I will be a father to you, and you shall be sons and daughters to me, says the Lord Almighty.” – 2 Corinthians 6:18

When I was five years old, my dad left our Christian home.  For the next ten years I grew up with a gnawing sense of need to have the things that only a dad could give me.  I watched my friends and their wonderful dads interact, all the time wishing that my situation was different.  My heart yearned for a dad who would take care of me, talk with me, and walk me down the aisle when I got married.  The things dad’s were supposed to be there to do.  Mostly I just wanted a father who would love me in the same way I saw other fathers loved their daughters.

But God says that He is my father and I am his daughter.  That isn’t just some abstract title which He uses figuratively.  He has adopted me into his family, and he will fulfill all my needs as my heavenly father. 

When I remember how He is the savior of the world, yet he loves me as his special daughter, any feelings of longing for that father figure in my life disappear.  I have God as my dad.  What more could I need?  Anyone else will fail me eventually.  My earthly dad missed most of the important events in my life.  God will never fail me.  My heavenly dad was there for each and every one of those special moments, and he saw them thousands of years before they happened.   He is the perfect comforter.  He is there with me when I cry; His face fills with joy when I laugh.  I sit in his lap every morning during my quiet time.  I am His little girl and that is where I find my identity.

So your parents are divorced.  It’s inevitable that your relationship with one or both of your parents will not be the same as it was before the divorce.   But if God is Lord of your life, He will fill your every need, including your need for the love of a parent.  You are God’s beautiful and beloved child.  Realize how much you are worth to your Heavenly Father.  He gave his only son so that you could join the family!  Now that you know that you have someone who will never fail you, give Him the love He deserves.

What do you think?

