“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Never Forsaken

“…for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you or forsake you.” – Deuteronomy 31:6b

Another sob escaped into the cold air around me and I hoped no one had heard.  A puddle of tears already soaked the pillow beneath my head that served to muffle the sound.   It was another three day weekend away from my mom and the comfort of home.  I was visiting my dad’s house like I did every weekend, but this weekend was especially hard because it was a day longer than normal.  Besides that, it was my ninth birthday.   Today I had woken to the familiar heart-ache of being homesick and lonely, magnified by the thought of being alone in a strange place on my birthday.

I didn’t know at the time that God had specifically promised to be with me all the time. He said he would “never leave me or forsake me,” not even when I felt forsaken by other people.

Even though I hadn’t seen Deuteronomy 31:6 or the other places in the Bible where God makes his promise of unfailing love and care towards me, I knew that God was there with me.  I could feel his arms wrap around me and assure me that it would be okay.  He spoke words of comfort to my heart until the last tear dried and I lay still, listening to cars pass outside my window.

Do you feel alone?  Maybe you have been disappointed by someone close to you, or maybe you feel invisible in a big school.  There is One who has promised to be there for you no matter what.  He wants to develop the friendship between you.  Will you let Him?

Click on the link to listen to a song by Group 1 Crew:

Please Don’t Let Me Go – Group 1 Crew

What do you think?

