“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

R+R

The minute hand on the clock seemed to slow to a crawl, just to mock me in my misery.  It was the last class of the day and there were still 8 minutes left – 8 verrryyy long minutes.  I was betting my luck on the hope that my teacher would not call on me, because I had not been able to concentrate at all for the past hour.

I felt exhausted.  This week’s homework seemed to pile up in a daunting mountain of papers and textbooks.  Besides all that, I was stressed out from things going on during my visits to my dad’s house.  It seemed I could not take anything more.  A lump rose in my throat just thinking about the struggles that awaited me this weekend.  Life screamed at me to give up.

It wasn’t until later I discovered the truth in Psalm 62.  Each verse in the passage felt like a soothing balm to my frantic heart as I lingered on the words in verses 5-8.  “For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him.  He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken.  On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God.  Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us.”

Right then I released my troubles to God and felt his peace wash over me.  He would be my fortress through every hardship in my life –especially the ones that felt too hard for me to handle by myself.

When every precarious situation in your life seems to finally tumble, rest in the truth of God.  He is the one and only solution to your stress and worries.  He says to pour out your heart to Him.  So, by all means, pour out your heart to him!  He promises to be the steady rock in the midst of our turmoil.  Stand on his promise.

 

Comments on: "R+R" (2)

  1. Wow. So, so, good. Thank you so much for encouraging me again, Aimee.

  2. Thanks for the comment, Mary!

What do you think?

