“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Morning Thoughts

6:15. That was the time blinking at me when my alarm went off yesterday. I stumbled out of bed, found my towel, and groggily checked my bloodshot eyes in the mirror while the shower water warmed up – all while silently moaning about how it was too early to be awake.

I have too many mornings like that.

It wasn’t until half-way through my shower that a thought hit me: this day is God’s gift to me!

My sleep-deprived yawns still weren’t entirely convinced of the beauty of that fact, so I started to purposefully thank God for the day ahead.

“Thank you, God, that you have given me a new day to do your work. And thank you for each person that you have already placed in my life today for me to talk with or encourage. Thank you that you have given me purpose and hope because of your work on the cross.”

As my mind focused on God’s blessings instead of  on the early morning, my body began to lose its weariness.  I kept praying.

“Thank you that I was able to sleep in a comfortable bed. Thank you for the ice cream I ate last night. Thank you that I get to drive to work before it gets too hot outside.

By the time I got out of the shower, I was energized and ready to start my day on a good note. Instead of dragging through my quiet time with barely open eyes, I was eager to find God’s promises to me for this special day.

Will you start the morning challenge? Tomorrow when you wake up, start thanking God for his blessings in your life, no matter how small they might seem. Give it a few minutes and see how it affects your mood. It can’t hurt.  =)

What do you think?

