“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

He’s Got Your Back

Shocked. That must have been the look on my face as I stared at my driving instructor.  Did she really just say that I had passed my test? I was still trying to grasp her words as she finished writing up the paperwork and signed off on my score.

This test had been a source of great anxiety over the last few weeks. Actually, the last two driving tests had been pretty stressful too.  I failed my first test because I hadn’t been able to get within the required 6 inches of the curb on the parallel parking. My second test ended with the same result.

By today’s third test I was desperate. I needed my driver’s license to be able to travel to my summer internship which began in only six short days. It seemed hopeless. I really, really needed my license now.

My instructor’s obvious boredom was in stark contrast to the quick beating of my nervous heart.  She buckled her seat belt and directed me to enter the course. It was nothing short of a miracle that I got through the parallel and reverse parking. Then we went out for the road test.

Everything seemed to go well. After about 15 minutes, the lady communicated that I could park the car at the MVA so she could add up the points I had accumulated.

That’s when I messed up. Parking had always been the hardest part of learning to drive for me. As I pulled into the space, I could tell I was crooked. I went a little farther to straighten myself out. Crunch. I heard the bottom of the bumper hit the curb and felt the wheels rise beneath me.

I resigned myself to the fact that I would be committed pedestrian for the foreseeable future.

The instructor, however, looked nonplussed. She motioned for me to back up. Then she pulled out her clipboard and silently added up the points. “You passed.” Her monotone voice didn’t do justice to the relief that gushed from my heart. As I floated back to the door of the MVA, I snuck a look back at my car and stifled a laugh at the way it was diagonally situated in two spaces.

After receiving an awful picture and taking a vision test, I walked out the door with a new sense of God’s amazing provision. There’s no way I would have passed if not for his help. I regretted all the time I had spent worrying before I had committed the test and its outcome to Him. I should have learned by now that God always provides everything I need!

Is there something that you are anxious about? Is it uncertainty with your parents’ relationship, or fear of what your life might be like when everything is settled down? Remember that God has your back. He will always provide what you need, even if it’s not in the way you think. He will never let you down.

And if God can help me pass a driver’s test, he can do anything.

What do you think?

