“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Scars

“How long do you think it will take for them to go away?” I asked while examining the 3-inch scars on the sides of my feet.

“Oh, I’d say about three weeks or so,” my podiatrist answered absentmindedly. He finished up his check-up and handed me back my crutches.

“Really? That seems pretty quick.” I answered, a hint of disbelief in my voice. When I had gone in for my first bunion surgery almost two months ago, I hadn’t considered the fact that I would come out with these scars. Now that the second surgery was over, I was beginning to wonder how long I would bear the marks that made wearing flip-flops a little more dramatic.

Now, almost two and a half years later, I still have long, pink scars on the inner sides of my feet. It’s interesting to see peoples’ startled reactions when they glance down during a conversation and notice them there for the first time. Sometimes I like to come up with outrageous stories of how they got there, at my poor friend’s expense.

There are other ways to get scars than just getting physically hurt. Divorce leaves some big ones – maybe not so visible, but they are definitely there. Sometimes we can want to hide those scars deep down where no one will ever notice them. We are afraid that we will be viewed as weird or ugly because of the hurt we have experienced.

Unlike the scars on my feet which might never completely go away, the scars that we carry from our parents’ divorce can be healed. God wants to heal you from the ill effects of your parents’ separation. But there is one thing you have to do – stop hiding them from him. Go to Jesus in prayer and expose your hurt to his healing hand. He will make you like new inside.

What do you think?

