“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Guardian Angels

Thank you to those of you who emailed in response to my last post! The opportunity is still open if you would like to tell me your story!

***

I had finally passed my driver’s test just one week before. Today, my mom and I were testing the route that I would be driving every morning for the rest of my six-week internship. I was dreading using the highway because I hated having to merge lanes in high-speed traffic.

When it came time to enter the highway on our test-run, I sped up and successfully merged into the traffic flow. I relaxed, relieved that the worst part was over. But suddenly I realized that the lane I was currently driving in would also end in just a few hundred feet! I frantically tried to get over, but a huge semi-truck was blocking me. I jammed on the brakes and the car stopped at the end of the lane. The 18-wheeler wizzed past my window, missing our car by inches. My mom and I sat stunned for a minute before trying to enter the highway again.

This was one of the many times when I experienced God’s supernatural protection. I consider it miraculous that we didn’t get run over by a semi-truck that day. Psalm 34:4 says, “I sought the Lord, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears.” Then in verse 7 we see God’s amazing promise to those who believe in him: “The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him, and delivers them.”

Your parents’ divorce might have brought circumstances into your life that seem out of control or even dangerous. It can be so hard to have to deal with those things, and I’m sure I can’t even begin to imagine the particular situations you have had to face. But take hope in God’s promise. When it seems like you have come to the end of yourself, God is right there with you. He will deliver you in the moment of your distress. He encamps around you to protect you. When it seems like you can’t take anything else, he will sustain you. Trust in Him.

Comments on: "Guardian Angels" (2)

  1. Aimee, fantastic post! I actually started writing my next blog on miracles and blessings. I have been praying this week that the Lord will teach me more about the miraculous ways He protects and guides us. Your blog entry was an answer to prayer! May you and your readers continue “Casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you” (1 Peter 5:7).

  2. Wow, what perfect timing, Danielle! Can’t wait to read your post!

What do you think?

