“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Dangerous Dependence

Recently I watched Transformers for the first time when our family was going on vacation and we checked out several movies from the library to watch during our trip. I’ll save you my opinion of the movie itself, but there was one scene that really stuck out to me. It is the one where Spike is desperately trying to keep the Decepticons from taking the all-powerful Allspark. He is standing on the pinnacle of a tower with the cube in his hands, and the head Decepticon is trying to grab it from his hand. Rather than let them take it, he throws the cube over the side of the building with the hope that one of the Autobots will catch it.

You may be wondering why I was so captivated by this rather obscure scene. Well, it’s because I realized just how much that scene applies to my life. Sometimes I need to remind myself that God is there to catch me. I need to throw my trust down from my tower of safety and trust that God is able to catch it.

It’s especially intuitive to rely entirely on yourself when you live in a home with divorced parents. You’ve been hurt by other people’s failures, you’ve had to live on your own, and you have been forced to take on adult responsibilities. The world and common sense say that we should just stop hoping in other people and should depend on ourselves alone.

So far, I haven’t found a verse in the bible that says we have to trust in other people. But there are plenty of verses that speak about the joy of putting our trust in God. Unlike other people in our lives, he is totally reliable. Take a chance. He is trustworthy.

Comments on: "Dangerous Dependence" (2)

  1. Hi Aimee- I thought of two verses when I read your post. “Stop trusting in man who has but a breath in his nostrils. Of what account is he?” (Isaiah 2:22). “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths” (Proverbs 3:5-6). These verses help me deal with the pain from imperfect people in my life. It reminds me to fix my eyes and heart on my Perfect, loving Creator. Thank you for reminding us that we can always trust God!

  2. Thank you for your thoughts, Danielle, and for bringing up those very applicable verses!

What do you think?

