“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving. What does that word bring to your mind? I have lots of memories associated with that three-syllable word. I remember long Thanksgiving weekends that I spent at my dad’s house over the years. These memories are filled with anxiety and awkwardness at spending the day with immediate family that I hardly saw otherwise.

But one of the clearest memories of Holiday Awkwardness occurred in an unlikely setting: a classroom. A teacher asked the class to go around the room and talk about our Thanksgiving plans. The other kids, from my church, explained how they would be driving a few hours to see distant aunts and uncles, or how they would spend a quiet day with their family. When it was my turn, I smiled and answered, “I always go to my dad’s house for thanksgiving.” The room experienced an awkward silence. They were not familiar with this type of holiday arrangement since I was one of the only kids they knew who had divorced parents. After a few seconds, the teacher cleared her throat and moved on.

I love my friends dearly, and I am sorry that this type of situation makes them uncomfortable (as it would probably make me, were roles were reversed!) I’ve noticed that divorce has a tendency to to cause uncomfortable moments. Have you had to deal with times like this, where things get awkward because of your family’s disjointedness? I think it’s inevitable. Maybe you’ve had to make decisions about how to include both parts of your family in your life, or maybe you feel out of place at one of your parents’ houses. Take comfort in the fact that there are thousands of other girls who know what you are going through. You are not alone. More importantly, you are not alone because God is with you in every moment of your life.

Know that my prayers are with you during this holiday season. Pray and ask God to give you wisdom in how to juggle the different parts of your family. God’s grace will sustain you!

Much love,

– Aimee

Comments on: "Thanksgiving" (7)

  1. I know exactly how the Awkawardness is. It seems that my friends get extremely awkward whenever I bring up my parents divorce. Thanks for letting me know I’m not alone.
    -Pure in Heart

    • Pure in Heart, you are definitely not alone. Something that I’ve found helpful is to talk with someone who has gone through a similar experience. It just helps to know that there really are other people out there who have the same issues. =)

      • Great idea! But I don’t think I have any friends whose parents have gone through divorce. I know it sounds odd since over half of every marrige ends in divorce, but it is true.

        • Actually, that’s kind of the situation I’m in too. I go to a great church where thankfully there isn’t much divorce. But in doing some interviews for the book I am writing, I have been able to meet with some girls who’ve gone through their parents’ divorce. It’s been great to know that other people experience the same things I do. If you ever need to talk, please email me!

  2. Hi Aimee. I nominated you for the Liebster blog award. Requirements are listed on my page: http://drusillamott.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/liebster-blog-award

  3. Thank you so much, Drusilla, for nominating me!

What do you think?

