“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

One of Those Days

It was just one of those days when everything seemed to be going wrong. In the morning I woke up and my bedroom felt like it was trying to compete with the icy air outside. I braved the cold to get out of bed and take a shower, but there was no shampoo left. When I went to eat breakfast, my little brother was sitting at the kitchen table happily eating the last bowl of cereal. The only thing left for breakfast was a piece of bread. At school, I realized that my homework was still lying in the printer at home. After I got home from school, I logged onto my online class to find that a major test was due at midnight…a test that I hadn’t studied for yet. That pretty much took care of the rest of my afternoon and evening.

We’ve all experienced times when the daily grind turns ugly. Sometimes it seems like all the little bad things pile on at once. In Psalm 27:13, David has something to say about bad days like this. “I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living!” That verse helps me to keep perspective during times when it seems like everything is going wrong. I remember that the goodness of the Lord is more permanent than these difficulties. I shall see the goodness of the Lord. This trial will pass in just a short time.

Are you having a bad day? Think about all the good things that have happened in your life in the past. Do you remember that precious quiet time you had the other day? Or when a friend encouraged you in some way? Think about the time you were struck by God’s goodness this week. That time will come again. You shall see the goodness of the Lord.

Leave a comment and tell me, how has God been good to you? What do you do to remind yourself of the goodness of the Lord? Is there a verse that has been especially helpful for you? I want to hear from you!

Comments on: "One of Those Days" (7)

  1. I’ve had days where it seems everything is going wrong! It’s so easy to start complaining and become negative. Aimee, thank you for reminding us to see the goodness of the Lord during these times. Two verses that help me get through a difficult day are in Jeremiah and Isaiah. “ ‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future’ ” (Jeremiah 29:11). “…those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint” (Isaiah 40:31).

  2. Thanks so much for posting this! I really have had just a crappy week, and it was a real encouragment. Often times I focus on the bad and don’t look at all the good things that have happened to me. Thanks again!

  3. Danielle:
    Yes, I love those verses also! I used to have a necklace that had Jeremiah 29:11 written on it. It was a great reminder to me. Isaiah 40:31 is wonderful too — especially the part about not growing weary. It’s so easy to become weary with things that happen in our lives when we could be lifted by God’s strength. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Danielle!

    Pure in Heart:
    I’m so sorry you’ve had a hard week! It’s amazing how quickly things seem better when I think about how good God has been to me. I’m glad this post was helpful for you, and thanks for stopping by!

  4. Great post. There are times when my days go like that and I just smile and wonder what will happen next. But God is so good. I have found that the best way to beat the blues is to think of all the blessings I’ve been given. Pretty amazing what God has done for us. God Bless!

  5. Yes Mike, it’s so true that we have been given many, many blessings. Salvation itself is the biggest blessing! Just thinking about Jesus’ enormous act of love is enough to wash away the effects of a bad day. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Thank you Aimee for a great post and the follow! 🙂 I’m so glad you stopped by my site and that I found yours. God has been SO good to me. I’ve had quite a few bad days lately and big struggles due to a relationship ending. I was very blue last night, pretty much cried myself to sleep and when I woke up this morning I said out loud “I believe something good will happen to me today”. (I’m trying this new positive thinking technique I learned from Joyce Meyer) LOL So my “good day” consisted of God giving me the inspiration to write a new post, a friend sent me the King of Kings Friendship Award and I received a little “gift” in the mail from my grandmother. I was able to go buy some food and put gas in the car. May not seem like much, but these things were huge for me. I look foward to reading more of posts and God bless!

    • byhisgrace211, thanks for sharing the good things that happened in your day! It’s amazing how those small things really make a difference if we stop and acknowledge them. Also, that’s a great idea to remind yourself verbally that good things will happen to you! Reminding ourselves of the promises of the Lord will keep us focused on Him and not our circumstances.

What do you think?

