“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Shaken

The rollercoaster at the Denmark amusement park was a little rickety. I heard a clattering sound as a single car climbed the big hill and rushed down the other side. Excited screams floated on the wind. My family was sightseeing in Europe, and we were stopping at several of the famous theme parks during our trip.

It was almost our turn to ride. There were no ropes at the front of the line where I was standing, so I leaned over to look into the deep tunnel-like track where the roller coaster would stop. It sure was a long drop…

Suddenly, someone grabbed my waist and held me over the track! The rollercoaster was about to return to its station, and I certainly didn’t want to be on the path when it did. A moment later, my prankster returned my feet to the ground. I whirled to look at the person who thought it was funny to scare the life out of me, and found the guilty culprit, a ride attendant, giggling hilariously at what he thought was a clever joke. Apparently he didn’t share the American fear of the word, “lawsuit.”

Have you ever had that feeling of being unsettled like that? Probably your experience is more serious than an ill-timed prank. The other day I stumbled on this amazing verse, Acts 2:25. It says, “For David says concerning him, ‘I saw the Lord always before me, for he is at my right hand that I may not be shaken.’” What struck me is that the same God who could not be held by death is the one who is at my right hand so “that I may not be shaken.” Isn’t that incredible? As we hold on to God, he will become the most important thing in our lives and we will never be shaken to the core. Focus on Jesus. By his power, you will never be shaken from his hands.

Do you feel like your parents’ divorce or another problem has been a roadblock in your life? Have you ever felt shaken by a disaster that you didn’t see coming? What have you learned through it?

Comments on: "Shaken" (1)

  1. Merry Christmas!

    God Bless you lead you with His Love & anointing.

What do you think?

