“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Five Things

Do you ever take a moment just to think about God’s love for you? It’s one of the most important topics you could spend time thinking of! If not for his love, we would not have any hope of a relationship with him and we would be doomed to spend eternity without him. Here are five things that I wrote down when I was thinking about his love for me today:

1. His love is greater than I can imagine. Picture the ocean. Now multiply that one million times. And God’s love is still bigger!

2. His love is self-sacrificing. He gave himself up to humiliation and torture in order to rescue me.

3. His love does not depend on me. No matter what I do or how bad I mess up, God already knew about it. My actions can’t change his love for me.

4. His love is personal. Sometimes we talk about God’s love like it is an abstract idea. But it is exactly the opposite! He loves YOU. Ask him to make that truth real in your heart.

5. His love is safe. No matter how many times love has failed in the past, God’s love will not. Fully entrust yourself to him. He won’t let you go.

 

What are some other things about God’s love that you have learned or experienced?

Comments on: "Five Things" (10)

  1. Hello Aimee,

    Wow! When I think about the unconditional love of the Lord Jesus Christ towards me, I become overwhelmed! “Greater love has no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.” Your expressions of His love, bring perspective to the love Jesus Christ has for us! Thank you!

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog, because it allowed me to find your blog! May the Lord richly bless you!

    Paulette

  2. Like Paulette, I am glad you stopped by my blog, because that led me to discovering yours. Thanks! And by the way, I responded to your comment on my blog as well.

    I can only speak for myself, but I think that your five things pretty much covers it.

    In the language of the new testament, there are several words that we translate into “love” in the English language. One is the physical kind of love from which we get the word erotic. Another is a brotherly love from which the city of Philadelphia is named. And another is parental love, the love of a mother or father for a child.

    Then there is agap-e (sorry, I couldn’t find an accented ‘e’), the self sacrificial love that God has for us, and was demonstrated when Christ died for us on the cross. Unlike any of the forms of love that we were familiar with before knowing the Lord, agap-e is never swayed or withheld emotionally, but always seeks the highest good of the receiver, no matter the cost to the giver.

    This is a love that we as believers may try to attain to, but likely, so long as we are constrained by our fleshly bodies, will not be able to master.

    This is the love that causes me to fall to my knees in prayer and shed tears of joy and appreciation for all that my Lord has done for me, and tears of sorrow at my utter inadequacy to receive a love so pure.

  3. Paulette,
    The more we think about his unconditional love, the more amazing it seems! Thank for bringing up that verse. Self sacrifice is the greatest expression of love, and that is exactly what Jesus came to do. That the King of the world would sacrifice himself is an incredible truth!

    John,
    Thank you for describing the many different types of love. Agapé is indeed an almost unbelievable kind of love. I like how you say that it “always seeks the highest good of the receiver, no matter the cost of the giver.” So true. We see this in the verse that Paulette brought up earlier. May God help us as we grow in practicing this same type of love with people around us!

  4. Loved this post! I also commented to to award you with the Kreativ Award. Here is the link to your nomination: http://christcallingteens.blogspot.com/2012/01/kreativ-award.html. I hope you will be able participate.

  5. Wow, thank you, Pure in Heart!

  6. godsgirlz1 said:

    I like this post. Its nice to read about God’s unconditional love to us. 🙂
    Godsgirlz1
    http://godsgirlz1.wordpress.com

  7. Hi godsgirlz1,
    So glad you were encouraged by this post. =) I never get tired of dwelling on God’s love!
    – Aimee

  8. godsgirlz1 said:

    Thank you so much for following your blog. I am following yours too, I think. Could you check for me?
    -Godsgirlz1

  9. Yep, you are! =)

  10. godsgirlz1 said:

    Awesome!

What do you think?

