“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

My Provider

Low Tire Pressure, read the speedometer. “Oh great,” I thought. “What does that mean? A flat tire?” This summer I had been interning at NASA and living with my grandparents. They had generously lent me the car that I was now driving back to my office from a meeting on the NASA campus. “Too bad I never learned how to pump up a tire…” I parked the car in the first parking space I could find and walked the rest of the way to my office. I didn’t know exactly what the message meant, but I sure didn’t want to do extra damage.

Of course, no one answered the phone at my grandparents house. I put down the receiver. “God, you’ve got this under control. You have always taken care of me before, and I know you’ll do it again. I need to get some more of my assignment done before it’s time to go home in a couple hours. Please send someone that knows how to help me!” Then I returned to the work I had been doing.

About forty-five minutes later, I suddenly had the idea to post my dilemma on the NASA intern discussion forum. To my relief, a friend replied just a few minutes later to say that there was a service garage on campus about a mile from my office! It should be okay to drive that far. “Thank you, God!” I grabbed my keys and walked back to my car. The garage looked deserted except for two men in the parking lot. “Um, excuse me,” I asked, “a warning light just came on and says that my tires have low air pressure. Would either of you know how to put air in them?”

The first one answered, “Oh, we actually don’t work here – we just came to look around. But if you pull your car into the building we’ll see what we can do.” Ten minutes later my tires were eight pounds heavier and I was able to drive home. God had provided again.

Do you worry about the future? That you or your family will have what you need? Divorce can cause a lot of uncertainty about where you will live, where your family’s income will come from, and what life in general will look like. But in the midst of all that uncertainty, you can rest on the fact that God has promised to provide for his children. He knows what you need and will always provide a way. Put your trust in your Lord who never fails.

Leave a comment and tell me, have there been times in your life when you have had to rely on God to get you through? How do you remind yourself that he will provide?

Comments on: "My Provider" (6)

  1. Hello
    Wow! Too many times to list on one blog sight – that’s for sure
    We are currently leaving a new home search up to the Lord for his guidance
    God Bless
    susie

    • Hi Susie,
      I will be praying that God will give you direction in your home search. He is always faithful to honor our faith and to provide.
      Thanks for stopping by!
      – Aimee

  2. godsgirlz1 said:

    Sometimes I struggle through things and its something that I can’t really share with anyone. Because no one would understand what I would be going through I have to rely on God through it all.

    Aimee, I know this blog is for girls who are from broken families. I’m not, but I find what you have to say really encouraging for me.

  3. Hi Godsgirlz1,

    I know what you mean about confiding in God when it’s hard to tell anyone else. I have definitely experienced that. And really, he is the one who can offer the best advice anyway! God does give us friends to help support each other though. If you would ever like to, I’d love to talk with you over email. =)

    I am so glad that my blog has been encouraging to you. Thank you for reading!

    – Aimee

  4. You have a lovely blog, Aimee. It blesses my heart so to see the next generation coming right along and following in His footsteps. May you reach and touch the hearts of many through your blog.

  5. Thank you for your encouraging words, Pattisj!

What do you think?

