“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

The Promise

Ally felt betrayed. Her father, the man she had loved unreservedly, was going to leave. When he pulled her aside that morning and broke the new, Ally had been too shocked to do much other than stand with her mouth open. Now she went back up to her bedroom, lay on her bed, and cried into her pillow. How could he? She had trusted him with her secrets and her love. She had never even considered the possibility that he would not always be in the same house with her.

Most of us probably felt much of what Ally did when we learned that our parents were getting a divorce. Sorrow, confusion, and betrayal. Had all of their words been empty promises?

Maybe you have had a hard time trusting anyone since then. Maybe you have even questioned if it’s worth it to rely on people. But there is one person who will always keeps his promises no matter how large the promise or improbable the situation. Not only will God do what he says, but he will do it beyond what we could ever expect! Look at this verse talking about Abraham. “No distrust made him waver concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong in his faith as he gave glory to God, fully convinced that God was able to do what he had promised” (Romans 4:20-21).

In the coming weeks I will explore some of the specific promises that God has made to each of us. For now, know that God will NEVER break his word. His word is what created the universe in the first place, and it’s what sustains it right now. Pour your trust into Him, because he is always worthy of more.

Can you think of a specific time in your life where God has kept his promise to you? Are you waiting for him to keep one? Tell me about it by leaving a comment!

Comments on: "The Promise" (15)

  1. Thank you Aimee
    For the bible verse on trust
    Yes, we are currently waiting for “an answer” from the Lord
    This time – we are waiting in TRUST and the verse will help sustain
    God Bless
    susie

    • Hi Susie,
      I am so glad that the verse encouraged you! It has become one of my favorites because of how it reminds me that God is willing and able to do what he has promised.
      May God bless you as you continue to wait for him in trust.
      – Aimee

  2. Hi Aimee,
    Thank you for the reminder that God is perfect and will never break His Word. I have experienced pain from imperfect people in my life, but God continuously reminds me, ” ‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future’ ” (Jeremiah 29:11).

    • Danielle,
      That is a wonderful promise! It is so heartening to know that God is not surprised when things seem to go wrong in our lives, but that God was planning them from the beginning to be used for our good and his glory!
      – Aimee

  3. Congratulations, your blog has been nominated for The Candle Lighter Award. See my blog at http://237blessed.wordpress.com/ for further details.
    Our Father will never leave us nor forsake us. May we all persevere to the very end, holding on to our sure Hope in the Lord. Be forever blessed

    • Jonathan,
      Thank you for your nomination for this award!
      Yes, it is so wonderful to hold onto the promise of God never leaving us. Even when all other people may fail us, God stands strong.
      May God bless you,
      – Aimee

  4. Hi Aimee,

    Thank you for sharing such an encouraging message! The hymn came to my mind, “’tis so sweet to trust in Jesus, just to take Him at His word; just to rest upon His promise, just to know the Savior Lord!” I’m so glad that I’ve learned to trust Jesus, because He always keeps His promises! Praise God!

    God bless you!

    Paulette

    • Hi Paulette,
      After reading your comment, I went and listened to that hymn. You’re right, it really relates! There is a special peace that comes with trusting in Jesus to keep his Word. When so many other things are uncertain, it is incredible to know that God is a firm foundation for our faith!
      God bless you!
      – Aimee

  5. godsgirlz1 said:

    Aimee, do you think you can add the rss feed widget to your blog so I can follow it by rss feeds?
    Thanks

    • Hey Godsgirlz1,
      That’s a great idea! I think I added it, and it’s on the sidebar under “Or Follow by RSS.” Let me know if it works for you because I can’t really tell when I’m logged in.
      Thanks!
      – Aimee

  6. Aimee,

    I’m puting my followers blog buttons on my blog. Do you have a button I could put on it?
    Thanks!

    Kristie

    • Hey Kristie!

      I made one today, and you’ll find it on the sidebar. I tested it on my own blog, so it should work. =)

      Thanks for asking!

      – Aimee

  7. godsgirlz1 said:

    Aimee I nominated you for some awards:
    http://godsgirlz1.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/awards-tag/
    Hope you can do it.

What do you think?

