“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

The Promise: Purpose

Would it be there? I found the key to our neighborhood mailbox and carefully turned it in the lock. A white envelope lay on top of a stack of junk mail. Sure enough, burgundy words on the left side read “Grove City College.” Should I wait to open it until I got back to my house? No, there was no way I could stand the suspense for the long walk back inside. Carefully I slid my finger under the flap of the envelope and ripped it open. One word on the top of the page caused a wave of relief to surge through me, “Congratulations.”

Getting accepted into my first-choice college might not seem like a big deal to you. But a long road of praying, trusting, and defining my goals led to that moment. I wanted more than anything to be led on the path that God had set for me. When I found Psalm 138:8, it was as though God was whispering each word in my ear. “The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me; your steadfast love, O Lord, endures forever. Do not forsake the work of your hands.”

Did you catch that first clause? “The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me!” Have you ever heard any promise so amazing?? He has a purpose for me, and he will fulfill it. No matter what. He is God, and he will do what he says he will do.

Have you ever looked around and thought, “God can’t use me. Too many things have gone wrong already”? Look again. Every single one of those obstacles is something that God is going to use to fulfill his purpose for you. Your parents’ divorce, your responsibilities, and your problems – they cannot stand in the way of God’s purpose.

God has promised that he will fulfill the purpose that he has for you. Are you ready to live for God? How have you experienced the fulfillment of God’s purpose in your own life? I love hearing from you!

Comments on: "The Promise: Purpose" (13)

  1. godsgirlz1 said:

    Aimee, how did you make the code underneath you blog button? What website did you use to make your blog button. I made one with mybannermaker.com, but I can’t get the code to pop up underneath it.
    ~Godsgirlz1~

    • Godsgirlz1,
      It took me a little while to figure this out. First I created my image with Photobucket. Then I uploaded the image to WordPress under Media -> Add new. If you do this, make sure to copy the “File URL” on the screen that comes up as soon as it’s uploaded. Then go to this website: http://www.mycoolrealm.com/sandbox/gbgen/ and put in the info they ask for. It will give you a code you can use in a WordPress Text Widget to display both the button and the code that other people can copy.
      Hope this helps. =)
      – Aimee

      • godsgirlz1 said:

        It didn’t end up working, but I think that is because I was using a different website than you did. That’s ok, people can still take my button and put it on their blog. All they have to do is right-click it and copy it. Then paste it on their blog. Thanks for your help.
        ~Godsgirlz1~

        • Oh that’s too bad. I know there must be a way to do it on Blogspot too. I googled around for a little bit to learn how to do this. I’m sure you could do that too =).

  2. Pure in Heart said:

    Congratulations!! Thank you so much for the reminder.

  3. Awesome post, Aimee! I loved reading what God taught you as you waited to find out if you were accepted to Grove City College. Thank you for reminding me if I rely on the Lord, no obstacles will stand in the way from God being able to use me to fulfill His purpose!

    • Danielle,
      Isn’t it wonderful how nothing can stand in God’s way?! Even when things don’t go as I planned, I can know that God had a better plan!
      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I know that must have been a wonderful feeling. Just two days ago, I applied for a scholarship to the Christian college of my choice. I’m anxious to hear the news if they chose me to receive the scholarship or not, but I have to wait four more days! Congratulations on your wonderful news 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, dear!

    SoUtHeRnPiNkY.bLoGsPoT.cOm

    • Memory,
      I wish you the best in your college decisions! Grove City was always my first choice, but I had to remind myself that where ever I ended up going to would be the best for me as long as I committed my way to God.

      And you have a lovely blog!

  5. Hi Aimee,

    Congratulations! That’s wonderful news! May you continue to allow the Lord to guide your footsteps! Now, I’d like to congratulate you again, because I have nominated you for the versatile blogger award! To learn more about the award, click on the link. God bless!

    http://pbus1.wordpress.com/2012/02/05/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Paulette

What do you think?

