“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

The Promise: Strength

Overhead, colorful streamers announced the excitement of the circus. I eagerly found my seat and waited for the show to start.  My seven-year-old eyes were riveted as a lion trainer stood in the center of a small arena and commanded the ferocious-looking lions to circle around him. Later, I watched as acrobats swung from unbelievable heights. They seemed to defy gravity while the audience held a collective breath. Near the end of the show, the Strongman came to display his unusual strength. Out of all the entertainers, this man perplexed me the most. How could he lift such impossible weights? Ginormous barbells made of heavy metals seemed like children’s’ toys under his trained muscles.

As believers in Christ, we have a source of strength that far exceeds anything that even that circus employee could train for. Isaiah 41:10 says, “…I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Think about who is making that promise: the King of Heaven, the very one who sustains the universe! He is offering you his strength.

Have you ever asked God why he allowed you to go through the issues you deal with? Have you ever thought that maybe he made a mistake and gave you too much to handle? Maybe God miscalculated a little and accidently put one problem too many on your shoulders, right? Wrong. You may be going through something that seems impossible to bear. And it is impossible if you are trying to use your own strength. Look to God and his limitless power. He has promised to give it to you if you ask!

How does God’s strength manifest itself in your own life? When do you ask him for it?

 

Comments on: "The Promise: Strength" (10)

  1. Godsgirlz1 said:

    I’ve been going through somethings, and I asked God what was there to learn. I know that everything God lets you go through has a purpose or a lesson for you to learn. I asked God to please let me learn my lesson quick so I can get out of this situation.

    • You’re right Godsgirlz1, God does have a purpose for everything we go through. Sometimes it is still hard to turn that knowledge into motivation though. I’ve been reading a great book called “Trusting God: Even When Life Hurts” by Jerry Bridges. It has taught me so much about trusting God even when I go through those hard times!
      – Aimee

  2. Great post. Very inspiring.

  3. Great post, Aimee. God’s strength is the only strength that will get us through the trials and sufferings we all go through.

    I wrote an article on suffering last week, and have a 5 part series that I posted on Christian Blessings last year. I’m planning on posting the series at On Faith and Writing in the near future.

    Have a blessed day.

  4. I love how you began this post, it really drew me in. This is something I could really work on in my own life. Thank you for the encouragement!

    Your comment on my bland post really encouraged me… thank you!

    SoUtHeRnPiNkY.bLoGsPoT.cOm

  5. Aimee, I love that verse in Isaiah. I just realized that we both used similar verses for our blog posts around the same time! You used vs. 10, but I used vs. 13. Both verses remind us to rely on God’s strength and surrender our fears to Him. Thank you for reminding me to seek the Lord during difficult times! Fantastic post!

    • Danielle, I noticed that when I read your post! Isaiah 41 is a good chapter =).
      Today I also read this verse in my Bible: “The Lord is the strength of his people; he is the saving refuge of his anointed.” – Psalm 28:8 I thought that was a wonderful image too!

What do you think?

