“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Thinking on Joy

Coffee shops have a way of drawing almost every type of person. As I waited in line, I saw a group of men in business suits, a woman who had obviously been jogging before her stop here, and a young college student getting ready to study for exams at a nearby table. I looked around the room for Mrs. Seeley, the woman I was meeting with today, and glimpsed her colorful hat on the other side of the room.

“Hi Mrs. Seeley!” I greeted her after I ordered my drink and walked to her table. She got up to give me a hug in her usual cheery way. We chatted for a little while before moving on to the subject I had wanted to ask her about: how she had handled her parents divorcing when she was a young teenager. She said something that kept me thinking long after we left the coffee shop: “During the time of my parents divorce, it seemed like everything would be sad and dismal forever. I was so focused on my problems, that it seemed like they were the most important things in the world. Now I know that things will always get better.”

I know that on really bad days, it can seem like my problems are all consuming. The solution is to bring God’s truth into my circumstances. Read these few verses from Psalms that I’ve underlined in my Bible:

“You have put more joy in my heart than they have when their grain and wine abound.” – Psalm 4:7

“…in your presence there is fullness of joy;…” – Psalm 16:11

“May we shout for joy over your salvation,…” – Psalm 20:5

“For our heart is glad in him, because we trust in his holy name.” – Psalm 33:21

“You have turned my mourning into dancing; you have loosed my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness,” – Psalm 30: 11

Aren’t they wonderful? I especially like the last one, Psalm 30:11. Nothing can overcome the incredible joy that comes with meditating on God’s awesome salvation. Joy will replace gloom when we concentrate on the truth of what God has done for us instead of following a path of despair.

Will you turn to these verses in your Bible the next time you are tempted to focus solely on your problems? What are some of your favorite verses about joy?

P.S — Next week we’ll return to the Promise series =)

P.P.S. — Click on over to Ali’s blog, Surrendering All of Me, to read my guest post!
Comments on: "Thinking on Joy" (2)

  1. Godsgirlz1 said:

    Thank you for reminding me that we can’t focus on everything that is not going our way.

    ~Godsgirlz1

What do you think?

