“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

The Promise: Presence

Specks of light reflected off the waters and sparkled around the gigantic room. Thousands of eyes were focused on the girl reading her testimony, the story of how God had worked in her life, before a pastor would baptize her. I stood in the background waiting for my turn. Today I would tell the church about how God had changed my life through his fatherhood.

But just before my friend in the baptismal was submerged, fear gripped my heart. What was I thinking! Reading my personal story in front of at least two thousand people – strangers and friends?! Most had never heard my story before or didn’t even know about my parents divorce. How embarrassing. I wished I could melt through the floor and give the pastor a last-minute excuse, but it was too late. The crowd was clapping enthusiastically for my friend and people were signaling that it was my turn to step into the baptismal pool. Even if I wanted to, there was no chance of turning back now. I took in a short breath and shakily walked down the slippery stairs. I uttered a desperate cry, “Oh God, please be with me!”

Instantly my fears vanished like they had never existed. As I walked to the front of the small pool and took the microphone from a smiling pastor, I knew unmistakably that God would be with me. Already I could feel the peace of his presence.

Read God’s promise to us in Isaiah 41:10: “fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” God has promised to be with us! There is no reason to fear, because God has given his word to help, strengthen, and uphold us. What do you fear? Are you ready to trust God with that fear? Make a habit of seeking your Father’s presence in your life because he will help you to overcome your deepest anxieties.

Comment and tell me, have you had a similar experience to mine where God has miraculously removed your fears?

Comments on: "The Promise: Presence" (8)

  1. Praise God! I’m so glad you had an opportunity to publically speak about what God is doing in your life and the Lord gave you the courage! I have been learning that my heart and mind need to be in the right place before God can use me when I teach or speak in front of people. Then I can rely on Him to speak through me. May your story continue to touch many people’s lives, Aimee!

    • Danielle,
      I am so glad that I had that opportunity to share how God worked in my life and be baptized. This actually happened two years ago, right before I started my blog. It was a great introduction for me to be able to share my story!

  2. Godsgirlz1 said:

    There has been many times that God has removed my fear.
    Every year I have a piano recital and I get SO nervous. Well, I pray that God will take away my fear and when I get up there to play, the music overtakes me and I don’t feel scared.
    Also, last night I had to teach a mini lesson in my youth group. I didn’t feel nervous at all. God gave me the peace.

    • Godsgirlz1,
      I definitely know what that’s like! I’ve had to do a lot of school presentations in the past, and I usually get nervous right before I go up. But, like you, I’ve also felt the peace that God gives us when we ask him. Thanks for telling us about your experience with this!

  3. That’s a great testimony and a verse that I haven’t heard in a while. As a worship leader, God’s presence has calmed my fears many times.

    • Jeff,
      I’m sure you have a lot of these types of stories as a worship leader. Thanks for being willing to go up on stage and lead God’s church in worship!

  4. Hi Aimee,

    When I was in ministry, before becoming ill, I remember the days leading up to me having to minister being filled with fear. However, once I would get to the sanctuary, and get into the presence of God, my fear would vanish, because I could feel His very presence upon me!

    It’s wonderful that you were able to stand before so many, and share your testimony boldly! Continue to share your story and testimony! God bless you, richly!

    Paulette

What do you think?

