“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Dependent on What?

I double-checked the power bar at the top of the screen on my laptop. Yep. Even after five minutes of fiddling with the cord, it still wasn’t charging the battery. I began to think of all the online homework that would be due in the next couple of days and groaned. What was I going to do without my laptop? I quickly put it in sleep mode to conserve the little battery that was left so that I would be able to print anything that was absolutely necessary.

During the next week or so before my friend was able to fix my power cord, I began to realize just how dependent I was on my computer. Several times I unthinkingly reached for my laptop before remembering that I couldn’t use it.

This made me wonder: what would it be like if the dependence that I obviously had on my technology was invested in God instead? All throughout the Psalms, the writers describe God as our help, stronghold, level ground, rock, and salvation. Shouldn’t that be where my hope is placed?

In the coming days, I am going to seek a new dependence on God. What if I was as desperate after losing my Bible as I was after not having my laptop? I want to be addicted to God! Here are some ways I am going to cultivate dependence:

– Putting my mind on him first thing every morning. In the coming days I want to grow in having him on my mind as soon as I wake up.

– Seeking him out before every homework assignment. I don’t know about you, but I often get caught up in the things on my to-do list without stopping to take time for God. Maybe taking time to speak with him before each project will help me with this.

– Limiting Facebook. I’ve realized lately just how much time I spend reading about other peoples’ lives! While this is great in small quantities, it can quickly eat up precious time that I could use towards other things.

Will you join me in seeking out a new level of dependence on God for your life? What are you doing right now to spend time with Him or to remind yourself of your need for him?

Comments on: "Dependent on What?" (6)

  1. Good words! I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the same things. I’m endeavoring to be much more attuned to God’s words in my morning, and to think more on them during the day. Trying to “live looking to God,” as Chambers said. Also praying that the eyes of my spirit may be constantly open to the Risen Christ.

    • Jeff,
      “Live looking to God” is a great word-picture of this. And thanks for bringing up that we should be thinking on God’s words during the day. Often I forget what I read in the morning as I go about my day. I am going to try to remember this in the days to come!

  2. This is great, Aimee. I, too find my days eaten up with too much other ‘stuff’ that quickly takes over everything else. The only way I can guarantee a completely quiet time with God is to get up really early before the day starts. A few years ago, I started to consciously remind myself to talk to God through the day, and little by little it got easier; and now it is just a part of my day. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    • Drusilla,
      It’s so sweet to wake up early and have set-aside time with God. I find that if I wait too long after I’ve gotten up, other things come along that make me forget to sit down with my Bible. So waking up early for this purpose is a great way to do it!

  3. Hi Aimee,

    I enjoy posts that point us toward God. Thank you!

    Paulette

What do you think?

