“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Whoops!

My ten-year-old mind was determined. In one hand I held the phone book opened to the “V” section, and in the other I held our household phone. Mom had said that my siblings and I could get a kitten if we found out all the information about owning one beforehand. Today I was searching the yellow pages for a veterinarian who might have cats for sale.

I found the next applicable phone number in the hefty book and dialed.  After ringing twice, a female voice answered the phone in a slight drawl, “Hello, what can I do for you today?”

“Hi, do you have any cats?” I asked shyly.

“Cats?

“Yeah, I am looking for a cat and a vet for our family.”

“Umm…oh! She said with sudden realization. “Honey,” her voice sounded like it was trying to conceal laughter, “this is the Veterans Association – not the veterinarians association!”

“Oh…” I felt my face turning red, “well, thank you.” I quickly hung up the phone to the sound of her uproarious laughter.

Have you ever judged incorrectly about something like I did? Maybe you have made presumptions about your parents or step-parents that you cannot be sure of. It’s important that we are extremely careful when making decisions about another person’s motive. Just like mixing up a veteran for a veterinarian, it can be pretty embarrassing to misjudge someone for motives that were different than you thought.

Luke 6:42 says, “How can you say to your brother, ‘Brother, let me take our the speck that is in your eye,’ when you yourself do not see the log that is in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take out the speck that is in your brother’s eye.” You might be upset at your parents for the decisions they have made lately. But before becoming angry with them, take time to remember that they are humans and subject to the same temptations as you are. Most importantly, remember that you both have been redeemed by Jesus’s sacrifice on the cross. All of your sins and theirs have been permanently forgiven.

And always make sure that you double-check the number before you dial  😉

Comments on: "Whoops!" (6)

  1. Sadly, we are so quick to judge, when, in reality, there is no way we can truly know people’s motives or heart. God has really been teaching me this, lately.

    • Jeff,
      True, we can never fully know people’s motives and that’s why we should be extra careful when making a judgement about someone. Thanks for the comment!

  2. 😀 Awesome!

    Keep up the wonderful work and I hope you are blessed by this award… http://237blessed.com/2012/03/16/moving-genuinely-with-our-father/

  3. Wow, thanks so much Jonathan!

  4. Hey Aimee, I received your new post today called “An Opportunity” through my email address. When I tried to click on it to connect me to your website, it said page not found. I am not sure why that happened. I love how you had an opportunity to share your story about your parent’s divorce in your college interview. I will try connecting to your new post again later. 🙂

What do you think?

