“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

An Opportunity

ImageThe counselor’s office was neat and businesslike; the only identifying feature being a gold, engraved nameplate. My slightly plump interviewer flipped distractedly through the papers on his clipboard before clearing his throat and settling in for his umpteenth college interview that day.

He began with the questions I had expected from an interview at a Christian college, and he nodded politely as I responded, but I could tell that he had probably heard the same thing many times over. The next question was a little different: “What is the biggest spiritual lesson that you’ve learned?”

I thought for a minute before answering. “Well, I’d have to say it was through my parents’ divorce. My dad left when I was very young, and I didn’t grow up with a constant father in my life. But through the years God has been so faithful to take the place of a father and to show me his love in a way that I wouldn’t have been able to see otherwise.”

The counselor’s eyes grew more intent as I spoke, and I saw a change in his demeanor. He asked a few more questions about the subject and seemed genuinely interested this time. When I was done, he nodded thoughtfully. “Yes, thank you, that’s excellent.”

There have been several instances like this where I have been able to share specifically about God’s love because of my parents’ divorce. Guess what? You have this same opportunity if you have gone through a challenging time in your life! People – believers and nonbelievers – are usually more willing to listen to you if you have learned something through personal experience.

Psalm 66:16 says: “Come and hear, all you who fear God, and I will tell what he has done for my soul.” You have a responsibility to share the things you have learned about God – whether that is in the context of personal conversations or even to an audience! He has given you your particular circumstances and lessons for a reason. What is something you’ve learned through a hard time in your life? Leave a comment and tell me about it. I’d love to hear!

Comments on: "An Opportunity" (6)

  1. For three years we have dealt with the loss of job and loss of our home – we have depended on God’s Grace through-out this stressful time – some days were good and other days – not so good
    But waiting on the Lord’s timing is the hard part – now after three years of falling into the arms of our Father, He has given us a clear path to a new home
    We are finding our way through His Way
    Prayers for your day
    susie

    • Wow, that’s fantastic, Susie! I’m so glad that you have this story to share about God’s amazing provision and faithfulness. Thanks for telling me about it!

  2. Fantastic post, Aimee! I’ve noticed you have a beautiful gift for using your life experiences to help others turn to the Lord. May you continue allow the Spirit to guide you when you have opportunities to share how God is working in your life. Recently I had to speak in front of a large group of women about my testimony. I had to share about some painful experiences my husband and I went through in our marriage, but God gave me the courage and strength. When I was in the middle of speaking, I felt the Lord whisper to me, “I have given you a message to share. Now continue to reveal it to these women.” It was a wonderful feeling of peace and joy that filed me.

    • Danielle, I’m so glad that you had that opportunity to share in front of a group like that! It must have taken a lot of courage to speak about a hard time in your life like that. I love the words that you heard from God — what an encouragement!

  3. Following God in discovering where you are to study in this next stage of life can be a very tough thing. Our oldest son Nolan was finally given the decision from God a couple weeks ago and a great burden was lifted. Your heart is made clear and God is speaking through it. Interested on coming on Christian Devotions Speak UP and sharing it? Send me an email: scott@christiandevotions.us By the way, my family loved your devo this morning during our family worship time.

    • I am so glad that your son recently got some clarity on his college decision, Mr. McCausey! It certainly is a huge relief when you finally get the direction you are looking for. I will send you an email about your radio show. =)

What do you think?

