“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

The Rain

Today while I was waiting in the car for my sister, I watched the rain. I watched the small droplets gather on my window until bigger ones would slowly make their way down the glass in a stinted flow. Maybe it’s strange, but I love the rain. It cleanses the roads and spreads the scent of flowers in the air. And after it stops and the sun comes out, the world shines with an ethereal glow.

But rain can also inconvenience me. After school today, I walked to my car in it and my clothes became covered with wet spots. Rain gets people wet, rearranges outdoor activities, and slows traffic. It disrupts my plans.

Do you have rain in your life right now? Are there major things that have happened lately that seem to disrupt all your future plans? Sometimes when my hair get soaking wet or my clothes get covered in wet spots, I tend to concentrate on my frustration and forget the blessings of rain. Romans 8:28 that, “for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.” In the midst of trials, it is hard to remember that every event is an instrument of God to bring us good. Just like when a picnic gets cancelled because of a rainy day, we may not always like the circumstances that are designed to bring us good, but we can know for sure we will come out of the trial with a renewed knowledge of God’s love for us.

Be encouraged that at the end of a hard rain, the world sparkles as though it’s brand new.

Comments on: "The Rain" (2)

  1. Very nice post. You used something that everyone can relate to, how the rain can alter one’s plans, to teach one of the great truths of the Bible found in Romans 8:28! God bless you!

    Paulette

  2. I love that when we feel like we’re losing very important things in life because of circumstances that God allows, we have something that is of more worth than anything else: God’s unchanging love for us. There are nothing like trials to deepen our understanding of Love’s preeminence.

What do you think?

