“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Good Growth

The enormous trees of the Redwood forest rose far into the air above our heads, blocking out the sky and creating the illusion of being deep inside a jungle forest. My family and I spent several hours walking the trails that wove through the forest, pointing out ancient trees that were especially impressive. Some of the largest trees were big enough to hold two or three laughing children for a picture within their hollowed trunks. This was one of the largest Redwood forests in the country: Muir Woods.

As we passed by the visitor center on our way out, I noticed a cross-section from a tree that had fallen several years ago. The cross-section, which was at least 4 feet in diameter, was marked at different rings with dates and events that evidenced how old it probably was.  Next to the cross-section was a tiny seed. It was hard to believe that this enormous Redwood tree had grown from a tiny seed.

The other day I was continuing to read through the Psalms when I came across Psalm 126. If you have a few minutes, take some time to read the whole Psalm (it’s not long!), but verse 5 particularly struck me: “Those who sow in tears shall reap with shouts of joy.”

You might be going through some very painful things right now – things that you never imagined could happen to you or your family. Maybe you have spent many nights sowing your own tears and crying out to God. Let Psalm 126:5 speak to you.

You have been promised that you will reap joy from the tears that you have sowed. Picture that joy as one of the enormous Redwoods in comparison with it’s small starting point: the seed.

How have you reaped joy from your hardships? I know that I personally have reaped closeness in my relationship with God that is a direct result of suffering in my life. I turned to God in a way that I might not have if I hadn’t experienced sorrow from an early age. Those seeds grew into the joy of a beautiful relationship.

I’d love to hear how you have experienced the truth of Psalm 126:5! Leave a comment below and tell me about it.

 

Comments on: "Good Growth" (5)

  1. Hi Aimee, I made the commitment to read the whole Bible this year with a group of other women. I just started diving into the Psalms. You are motivating me to keep it up! I love how you reminded us in your new post that we can use suffering to draw us even closer to our Creator. I am learning to rely on God’s amazing promised when I endure hardship. Sometimes we can forget all the great things He has done for us when we are experiencing a trial!

    “The Lord has done great things for us, and we are filled with joy.” (Psalm 126:3).

    • Danielle, that’s so great that you reading through the Bible! I was trying to do that, but when I got to Psalms I had to slow down because it is just so full of rich verses. The one you quoted is another of my favorites from Psalm 126!

  2. I just wanted to let you know that I awarded you on my blog

    Ali

  3. I so appreciate your comment about a redwood tree representing the joy God can grow in us from the seed we sow in sorrow–it expands my faith. I just read that verse the other day and it had new significance; I’m glad you have reminded me of it again!

What do you think?

