“He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.” – Job 8:21

Imagine my surprise when I realized that this post had never gone up when I scheduled it to! If you need to refresh your memory on what happened in the first part of this story, go read it here.

By now I couldn’t tell if my manicurist was joking or if he was just plain crazy. I thought about getting up and leaving right then, but I reasoned that he must be mostly done.

I stopped trying to make conversation. Obviously he needed all the concentration he could get. It didn’t help that the TV overhead was playing a show titled “Life in the Paranormal” and he kept turning his head to watch it instead of looking at my nails.

After a while he tired of watching stories about sightings of UFOs and vampires, and asked me some questions. “What’s your name?”

“Aimee.”

“How old are you?”

“Eighteen.”

He started singing in a tuneless voice, “I know a girl named Aimee…She’s eighteen…she afraid to get nails done…Do you have a boyfriend Aimee?”

“No.”

“You pretty girl. Maybe you would have boyfriend if you weren’t such a scardy cat!”

Finally he was done. I stood up to gather my things and wait for my mom and sister to be finished. I examined my nails, which were bloodied at the cuticles and scratched under the surface of the nail polish, and I haven’t wanted a manicure since.

———–

Yes, this is a laughable story. At the time, I couldn’t decide whether to laugh at the absurdity of it or to be totally creeped out! You might still be reeling from events that have been going on in your life as well. In these times, it is hard to know how to react; should you hunker down and wait out the strange things going on, or should you accept this as the new normal?

Jesus gave us some direction in John 14:27. He said: “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” There is one option that we don’t have: giving in to fear. Jesus has promised us peace that is different from any other peace you seek. It is ‘not as the world gives.’

In what areas are you seeking God’s peace in today? How have you experienced his peace in the past? I’d love to hear about it!

Comments on: "Peace in the Bizarre – Part II" (2)

  1. I like your statement: “There is one option that we don’t have: giving in to fear.” God has been doing a lot in my life recently to teach me that I can trust His sovereignty no matter what. Faith and fear cannot coincide and I am growing in my conviction that faith is worth whatever price I have to pay in fighting against fear. I think it helps to understand that God does not lead us to fear and that knowing Him invalidates fear. I have a long way to go, but the fact that God is testing me in the area of trust assures me that He is set on establishing me in the hope of His care. What a relief!

  2. Thanks for sharing, Elaine! There are so many verses about fear. Recently I’ve been thinking on Psalm 27:3 which says, “Though an army encamp against me, my heart shall not fear; though war arise against me, yet I will be confident.”

    It’s amazing how fear can easily pervade every area of life if we don’t battle it with God’s word. I like how you put it: “knowing Him invalidates fear.”

What do you think?

